The Next Big Thing for Tech: The Internet of Everything

The internet of everything

Tech

In a column I wrote here before CES, I outlined eight trends I suggested would come out of the show. I omitted a key trend known as the Internet of Everything (IOE), as it was implied throughout out most of the trends I listed. But now that I have digested the events of the show, I should have called it out as a trend in its own right because it ultimately became the true theme of this year’s CES.

This became very clear to me during a meeting I had with the CEO of Cisco, John Chambers, where he outlined Cisco’s thinking on IOE. The financial numbers he predicts for the impact of IOE in the public sector alone: $4.6 trillion. He believes it will have a dramatic impact on everything from city planning, first responders, military, health and dozens of other environments. When I hear numbers this big…

View original post 1,087 more words

Leave a Reply

